That Crazy Fantasy Contest

OHMYGOD Week Three is Almost Over

I have to say that entering a writing competition with two weeks to go was a pretty aggressive goal, and I am proud of myself for submitting an entry.  However, I’m not entirely happy with the development of the story, nor the ending. I feel like the premise is better than the execution. But I submitted the entry, with a whopping 8 minutes to spare, and I paid the $11.23 (actual cost) to get a full-page review from the judge who reads it. That’s the part I’m most excited about, because I know the $500 prize, trophy, and anthology entry will go to much better writers than I.

Here it is, if you would like to read it: The Witch and the Porter

Despite temptation, I have left it exactly as it was submitted. I feel like it’s a bit of a work in progress. If you have comments/criticisms, I am seriously happy to hear them. To me this is practice. Someday I’ll be a real writer and every piece from here on it will hopefully strengthen my skills. Also skillz. SKLZZZ? Yeah, the capitals and multiple Zs definitely make it more legit.

And now I need to come up with an actual Thing for Week 3, so… see you later!

About

Writer, artist, plain language geek. Traveler, ukulele enthusiast, intermittent blogger.

Posted in Writings

Comment:

