Third Thing

This week’s thing is silly, but heartfelt

If you know me, you probably know that I love to cook but I don’t have a very wide range in the kitchen. (Ha, wordplay!) I recently ordered Anne Burrell’s Cook Like a Rock Star and it arrived just yesterday. Though I haven’t made anything from it yet I did read the introduction and skim through a lot of the recipes, and I am very excited to start rocking out.

Anne Burrell is truly a hero of mine. I’ve been a fan of Iron Chef America for a long time, and she busted out incredible pasta and pastries time and time again, in my opinion sometimes winning the battle for the esteemed Mario Batali. And so this song is dedicated to her, but not in a creepy way. (Ms. Burrell… may I call you Anne? Anne, if you ever read or hear this, I promise it isn’t creepy. Love you.)

Dear Anne Burrell (A Song)

Dear Anne Burrell,
Thanks for saying I’m a rock star!
I feel exactly the same way about you
The way your hair is pointy
The way your shirt is crisp
I always know your cooking will be true

Dear Anne Burrell,
Thanks for being such a badass!
You show that kitchen just who is the boss
The way you toast those nuts
The way you bust out pastries
There isn’t any mixture you can’t toss

Polpettini, Hard Polenta, Truffled Deviled Eggs
Roasted Beets, Asparagus, Grilled soft-shell crabs
Obviously I just got your book
Dear Anne Burrell, Please  teach me how to cook

Dear Anne Burrell,
Thanks for including all the pictures!
Each recipe looks so effing  fantastic
The crusted rack of lamb
The yummy bacon lentils
It’s a good thing my waistline is elastic!

A note

My webcam arrived yesterday in the same shipment, but because I’m not very good at making the song in my head into an ACTUAL song, you are saved from a video this week. I do have a tune in mind for this song so if I can I will put it to chords and serenade you soon.

About

Writer, artist, plain language geek. Traveler, ukulele enthusiast, intermittent blogger.

Posted in Writings

Comment:

