Tenth Thing

Yes, I’m Really Like This

Sometimes I just get something in my head and it won’t get out until I draw/paint/write it. Today that something happened to be a haiku about the drain in my kitchen sink. No, I’m not joking. I don’t know how it works, OK? It just happens.

Last week the sink was leaking AND not draining (I think it’s probably situated over a hellmouth,) and once it was fixed the gurgle of quickly-draining water was seriously musical. When I ran the water for dishes today I was so excited that this little poem popped into my mind. Here it is, plus two others also about my house.

Sink
Draining sink says swoosh
The sweetest sound in kitchens
Except for bacon

My Lawn Isn’t Perfect
Neighbors without jobs
Always mowing, pulling weeds
My yard grows. Suck it.

Goodbye Mold!
Basement dark and dank
No more yucky paneling
I won’t get sick now!

About

Writer, artist, plain language geek. Traveler, ukulele enthusiast, intermittent blogger.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Writings

Comment:

