NaNoWriMo

What the…?

If you’ve heard of National Novel Writing Month, or NaNoWriMo, maybe you thought “wow, neat!” or “wow, people are nuts!” or some combination thereof. If you’re not familiar with it, here’s the gist: every November, people all over the world get together in a virtual way and each participant writes with reckless abandon to reach 50,000 words of a new fiction novel. It’s not exactly a competition, but if you write 50,000 words, you win. You get a virtual badge, bragging rights, and a major sense of pride and community. And probably a terrible novel desperately in need of a dozen rounds of editing, but is still completely yours.  (Get more info on the official NaNoWriMo site – there’s still time to sign up!)

This will be my first attempt at NaNo and right now I’m still in the delusional stage where it seems so exciting and fun that I couldn’t possibly fall short of the 50K goal. I’m chomping at the bit to start, but I know that two weeks in I’ll probably be worrying, sleepless, and far behind the 1667 words/day goal.

This Is Where You Come In

I’ve been advised to tell everyone I know that I’m writing a novel next month, with the idea that you’ll be fairly supportive but mostly that you will promise to pick on me mercilessly if December comes and I haven’t done it. Got it? I need to get 50,000 words. I have two reasonably-solid characters and no plot or plan. Still- check up on me! Ask me how many words I wrote today. Give me crap if it’s under 1700. Remind me how disappointed I’ll be if I don’t win. Offer to buy me cookies at 25,000. (Hint.)

Thanks for reading, listening, and helping. 🙂 See you on the other side.

About

Writer, artist, plain language geek. Traveler, ukulele enthusiast, intermittent blogger.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Writings
3 comments on “NaNoWriMo
  1. […] you for reading, viewing, and for the encouragement along the way. From NaNoWriMo to Vampire Ketchups, it’s been an adventure! Special thanks to Joe for the support and love […]

Comment:

